oct 2021

WED 27

8am PST

 

panel discussion

Experiments in the Edge to Cloud Continuum

Kate Keahey – University of Chicago

Jason Anderson – University of Chicago

Organizer:

Serge Fdida – Sorbonne Université

The increasing popularity of IoT devices allows us to communicate better, interact better, and ultimately build a new type of a scientific instrument that will allow us to explore our environment in ways that we could only dream about just a few years ago. This disruptive opportunity raises a new set of challenges: How should we manage the massive amounts of data and network traffic such instruments will eventually produce? What types of environments will be most suited to developing their full potential? What new security problems will arise? And finally: what are the best ways of leveraging intelligent edge to create new types of applications?

In a research area that creates a new deployment structure, such questions are too often approached only theoretically for lack of a realistic testbed: a scientific instrument that keeps pace with the emergent requirements and allows researchers to deploy, measure, and study relevant scientific phenomena. To help create such instrument, the NSF-funded Chameleon testbed, originally created to provide a platform for datacenter research, has now been extended to support experiments in cloud to edge.

In this presentation, we will first briefly describe the Chameleon testbed and then explain how it was extended to support edge to cloud experiments. We will introduce CHI@Edge, an extension to CHameleon Infrastructure (CHI), give a demonstration of how users can easily create an experiment spanning edge devices and significant cloud resources from one Jupyter notebook, and give examples of edge to cloud projects in research and education projects that our users created.

time

8am PST

(5pm CEST / 11am EDT)

where

web-streamed | time streamed

contact

www.networkingchannel.eu

category

panel discussion