Skip to content

The Networking Channel

Xiang Chen

Xiang Chen


I am a first-year PhD student with the College of Computer Science at Zhejiang University, China. I received my B.Eng. and M.Eng. degrees from Fuzhou University in 2019 and 2022, respectively. From 2019 to 2022, I visited the Institute of Computing Technology of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the College of Computer Science at Peking University, China, as a research assistant. My advisors are Prof. Chunming Wu (Zhejiang University), Prof. Qun Huang(Peking University), and Prof. Dong Zhang (Fuzhou University). My current researches focus on programmable networks, network function virtualization (NFV), network security, and network measurement. My full publication list can be found at Google Scholar.


Ananda Gorck Streit


Ananda Streit is a D.Sc. student in Computer Engineering at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. She holds a M.Sc. in Computer Engineering from the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, and a B.Sc. in Computer Science from the University Center of Brasilia. Her research interests include multivariate analysis, machine learning and network measurements.

Khin mo Sue


David Córdova


David A. Cordova Morales is a Ph.D. candidate at the Laboratory of Computer Sciences of Paris at Sorbonne University. His work focus on enabling blockchain technology in mesh and mobile ad hoc networks. He received a B.Sc degree in Computer Sciences from the Autonomous University of Puebla, Mexico. He was then awarded a national grant to study at Sorbonne University, receiving an M.Sc. degree in 2018. Currently, he is preparing his Ph.D. defense ought to be presented by the end of the year.


Edmundo de Souza e Silva


Edmundo de Souza e Silva received the B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees in electrical engineering, both from Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro (PUC/RJ), and the Ph.D. degree in computer science from the University of California, Los Angeles in 1984. He heads the Laboratory for Modeling Analysis and Development of Networks and Computing Systems at UFRJ. Edmundo was a visiting professor/researcher at renowned universities and research centers including the IBM T.J. Watson research Center, IBM Tokyo Research Laboratory, UCLA Department of Computer Science, Computer Science Department at USC, Politecnico di Torino, Chinese University of Hong Kong, IRISA/INRIA-Rennes, University of Massachusetts at Amherst. He was co-Chair of the Technical Program Committee of major international and brazilian conferences of the IEEE, ACM and IFIP societies, the the Brazilian Computer Society including the Third International Conference on Data Communication Systems and their Performance (1987, sponsored by IFIP and IEEE Communications), IEEE/Globecom’1999ITC’2001ACM/Sigmetrics’2002IEEE/IEEE/Infocom’2009. Edmundo was elected for the ACM/SIGMETRICS Board of Directors for 2 terms (2001-2005), and was Chair of the IFIP W.G. 7.3 from Jan/2008-Jul/2014 (see also IFIP W.G. 7.3).

He has been involved with international cooperative research programs sponsored by NSF (USA) and CNPq (Brazil) and also with INRIA (France). He was a member of the Advisory Board of CNPq (National Research Council) in 1991/1994, and 1998/2000. During 1995/1998 he was a member of the Graduate Council of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. Since 2000 he has been the coordinator of the (course in Computer Systems Technologies of the distance learning initiative (CEDERJ ) of the state of Rio de Janeiro. He was also vice-chair of the Computer Science Advisory Board of CAPES (Graduate Council of the Ministry of Education) during 2002-2004 and the committee chair during the 2008-2010.  His research interests include modeling and analysis of computer systems, computer networks and machine learning. He has taught many courses (graduate and undergraduate) in these areas.

Currently he is a full professor at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, COPPE, Systems Engineering and Computer Science Department. He is also a “Researcher I-A” of the Brazilian National Research Council, a member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering (Brazil). In 2008, he received the medal of the National Order of Scientific Merit from the President of Brazil.